Home  |  Member's Login   |  Contact Us  |  Site Map

Next >

Sarah Chapman Francis Medal

Sarah Chapman Francis Medal

is awarded for outstanding literary achievement related to any aspect of The Garden Club of America interests.

History: It was presented and endowed in 1964 by Mrs. Otis Cook Stanton, Garden Club of Buzzard's Bay, Massachusetts, in memory of her mother, Mrs. Lewis Witherbee Francis, member-at-large of the Garden Club of America. The medal was created by Allison Macomber based on a design by Susanne S. Underwood, Garden Cub of Buzzard's Bay.

Previous recipients included Edwin Way Teale (1965), the Sierra Club (1968), Frances Perry (1973), John Henry Dick (1984), and GCA Bulletin Editor Sally McQueen Squire (2009.)

Eligibility: GCA club member or non-member
Selection: The interpretation of the award may be imaginative and broad in scope to include any literary work deemed appropriate by the awards committee.
Presentation: May be annual


See Winners

©2014 The Garden Club of America. All Rights Reserved.
Corporate Office
14 East 60th St, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10022
Phone: 212.753.8287 • Fax: 212.753.0134