Home  |  Member's Login   |  Contact Us  |  Site Map

< Previous Next >

Frances K. Hutchinson Medal

Francis K. Hutchinson Medal

is awarded to figures of national importance for distinguished service to conservation.

History: Designed in 1940 by Spaulding-Gorham Silversmiths of chicago, the medal is presented and endowed by the Lake Geneva Garden Club in memory of its founder, Francis K. Hutchinson (Mrs. Charles L.) Previous recipients include Rachel Carson (1951), Walt Disney (1954), for mer Secretary of State Stewart Udall (1965), Lady Bird Johnson (1968), and Roger Tory Peterson (1970.)

Eligibility: Members or non-members 
Selection: By joint recommendation of the chairman of the conservation committee and the awards committee.

If the awards committee selects a candidate other than the one recommended by the conservation committee chairman, the awards committee choice will prevail and immediately notify the conservation chairman of the selection.

Presentation: May be annual

See Winners

©2014 The Garden Club of America. All Rights Reserved.
Corporate Office
14 East 60th St, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10022
Phone: 212.753.8287 • Fax: 212.753.0134