Home  |  Member's Login   |  Contact Us  |  Site Map

< Previous Next >

Margaret Douglas Medal


Margaret Douglas Medal

is awarded for notable service to the cause of conservation education.

History: The medal was designed by Art Deco sculptor Rene P. Chambellan in 1952. It was presented and endowed by Mrs. Robert. D. Sterling, Garden Club of Dublin and Monadnock Garden Club, New Hampshire, to honor Mrs. Walter Douglas, a Member-at-large.

Previous winners include author and environmentalist Marjory Stoneman Douglas (1990), documentary filmmaker Bill Kurtis (1997), and horticultural consultant and educator Katy Moss Warner (2002).

Eligibility: Although preference is given to Garden Club of America members, the medal may be given to a non-member.

Selection: Awarded upon the joint recommendation of the conservation committee chairman and the awards committee.
If the awards committee selects a candidate other than the one recommended by the conservation committee chairman, the awards committee choice will prevail and the GCA awards committee chairman will immediately notify the conservation committee chairman of the selection.

Presentation: Annual


See Winners

©2014 The Garden Club of America. All Rights Reserved.
Corporate Office
14 East 60th St, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10022
Phone: 212.753.8287 • Fax: 212.753.0134