Members Area

GCA Medals: Frances K. Hutchinson Medal

 Previous   Next 

The Frances K. Hutchinson Medal is awarded to figures of national importance for distinguished service to conservation.

Selection: By joint recommendation of the chair of the Conservation Committee and the Awards Committee.

If the Awards Committee selects a candidate other than the one recommended by the Conservation Committee chair, the Awards Committee choice will prevail and immediately notify the Conservation Committee chair of the selection.

History: Designed in 1940 by Spaulding-Gorham Silversmiths of Chicago, the medal is presented and endowed by the Lake Geneva Garden Club in memory of its founder, Frances K. Hutchinson (Mrs. Charles L.).

Previous recipients include Rachel Carson (1951), Walt Disney (1954), former Secretary of the Interior Stewart Udall (1965), Lady Bird Johnson (1968), and Roger Tory Peterson (1970).

Award description on the certificate: For distinguished conservation service

See Winners