Members Area

The GCA to receive Rachel Carson Women in Conservation Award


March 20, 2019

Building on a century of conservation efforts.

The Garden Club of America will be the recipient of the coveted The Award recognizes American women whose exceptional talent, expertise, and energy advance conservation. Past recipients include Lady Bird Johnson, Elizabeth Titus Putnam, Marian S. Heiskell, Sylvia Earle, Maya Lin, and Bette Midler.

The National Audubon Society will present the award on May 16 to GCA President Dede Petri at the Plaza Hotel, NY.

Building on a century of conservation efforts, the GCA’s recent priorities have been a national Restoration Initiative for public gardens and landscapes devastated by natural disasters, the Healthy Yard Pledge, legislation to promote the hiring of botanists and use of native plants, a new position paper on Oceans, the promotion of native birds and native plants, and growth of the Partners for Plants program to assist local and federal parks in removing invasives and fostering native plants.

The GCA has also publicly spoken on an array of issues in keeping with its position papers, including opposing drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, supporting the Land and Water Conservation Fund and Scenic Byways, and opposing the use of neonicotinoids. 

Photo credit: Everglades National Park, photo by Elizabeth Waddill.



In Other News...


See All News