Members Area

2021-2022 Hull Award Recipients Announced


September 16, 2021

$10,000 Awarded to Early Environmental Educators

The Garden Club of America’s (GCA) Elizabeth Abernathy Hull Award annually recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals furthering the early environmental education of children. Established in 1992, the Hull Award provides $1,000 to chosen recipients who honor Miss Hull’s common sense approach to environmental awareness by inspiring children under sixteen to appreciate the beauty and fragility of our planet.

Administered by the GCA’s Civic Improvement Committee, the Hull Award is open to GCA members and non-members alike; however, individuals may not propose themselves. Members of GCA clubs may propose a candidate.

A woman ahead of her time, Miss Hull (1900 – 1996) was an active member of the Ridgefield Garden Club and credited her mother and grandmother with instilling her own passion for the environment. The Garden Club of America is proud to announce that this year there were ten Hull Award winners from across the country. To learn more about the Elizabeth Abernathy Hull Award and its recipients please visit GCA National Awards.   

Photo: Elizabeth Abernathy Hull
Photo courtesy of the Ridgefield Garden Club Archives



See All News