Members Area

2022 Hull Award Recipients


September 14, 2022

$20,000 Awarded to Early Environmental Educators

The Garden Club of America’s Elizabeth Abernathy Hull Award annually recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals furthering the early environmental education of children. Established in 1992, the Hull Award provides $1,000 to chosen recipients who honor Miss Hull’s common sense approach to environmental awareness by inspiring children under the age of sixteen to appreciate the beauty and fragility of our planet.

The Garden Club of America is proud to announce that this year there were twenty Hull Award winners from across the country. These dedicated teachers encouraged children to explore the outdoors and fostered a love for the environment, which was especially challenging and crucial during the pandemic.  Read bios of the most recent recipients and learn more about the Elizabeth Abernathy Hull Award here.

Administered by the GCA’s Civic Improvement Committee, the Hull Award is open to GCA club members and non-members alike; however, individuals may not propose themselves. Members of GCA clubs may propose a candidate.

A woman ahead of her time, Miss Hull (1900 – 1996) was an active member of the Ridgefield Garden Club and credited her mother and grandmother with instilling her own passion for the environment. 


See All News