Members Area

GCA Scholarships Recipients: The Loy McCandless Marks Scholarship in Tropical Horticulture

2014 Aqsa Butt

Aqsa Butt, originally a native of Pakistan, now a citizen of the United States, is a junior at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She is currently working toward a Bachlor of Science in the Landscape Architecture Program. Ms. Butt has been approved to be a full time University of Massachusetts student for a semester study abroad at National University of Ireland, Maynooth. She will explore tropical botanical horticulture interests at four micro climate locations on the southwestern coast of County Cork. 

2010 Mark Powers

School: Senior at the College of Environment and Design at the University of Georgia
Will spend a semester at the Monteverde Cloud Forest in Costa Rica compiling a journal of tropical plants that have both ornamental and edible/useful qualities.
Project location: Costa Rica

2004 Brad Biren

School: Cornell University Lincoln University - New Zealand
Project: "Use of orchids in SE Asia and companion plants in landscape planting."
Project location: SE Asia

2004 Stephanie Zabel

School: "Clemson University, South Carolina Senior in horticulture"
"Will study ethnobotany at the University of Kent at Canterbury, England."
Project location: England

2003 Jennifer Parrish

School: University of Florida Senior
"She will study abroad with the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia. Her field study program is in Environmental Horticulture and Landscape Architecture."
Project location: "University New South Wales, Sydney, Australia"


Scholarship Opportunities Abound

The GCA offers 28 merit-based scholarships and fellowships, awarding more than $330,000 to 86 scholars in 2017.

For example, the GCA Fellowship in Ecological Restoration offers an $8,000 annual grant for graduate study and research at a leading accredited university in the United States. Fields of study of past recipients have ranged from forestry to applied plant sciences to ecology and evolutionary biology.

Read more about the four 2017 recipients.